The bodies of Matthew Ahrens, 37, Trista Meyer, 34, and her daughter Shyann Lenz, 9, have been found deceased one week after they vanished flying from California to their home State of Wyoming after visiting Ahrens family in California for the Holidays.

Image

Left; Ahrens Middle; Shyann Right; Trista

Searches were conducted on November 25, 2012 when the missing family suddenly vanished while flying home after celebrating Thanksgiving with Ahrens family in his hometown in Bakersfield, CA.

Ahrens was the pilot and was flying the plane when it crashed in Utah on their way to Gillette, Wyoming. The three stopped off in Fillmore, Utah to refuel and Meyer texted her sister to tell her she would be home in a few hours, that was the last communication before the crash.

 Family don’t no what went wrong and described Ahrens as an ”experienced pilot.”

After a week of searches by authorities in Utah, Colorado and Wyoming, a Utah Department of Public Safety helicopter spotted the wreckage in mountainous terrain Sevier County at 8.15am Yesterday, November 2, 2012.

The bodies of their two dogs were also discovered.

‘They were just about clear at the top of the mountain. I don’t know if they got disoriented or couldn’t get enough altitude. I don’t know what it is.’ said Sevier County Sheriff, Nathan Curtis.

The bodies have been taken to the state medical examiner’s office to determine the cause of death.

Shyann Lenz’s biological father, Mark Lenz is devastated with his daughters death.

‘They’re in God’s care now,’ Lenz said. ‘We don’t have to worry about them being cold and we don’t have to worry about them being out there anymore. They’re on their way home.’

Mark Lenz’s Facebook page shows him and his daughter Shyann on the default. He also left a comment saying:

One thing I noticed today, in between crying bouts, is that the world seems more cold and more empty than ever before. I have lost my way and I am struggling to find it again, my children make it easier I guess, but the hurt is still overpowering, I try to look at pictures, which makes me cry harder, I try to pray it makes me cry harder, I try to remember shy and tris being silly and I smile but then cry really hard. Ugh I am unsure how to proceed, usually I have some idea, but not today. Shyann I love you my little angel, daddy is not giving up, he has just lost his way. I cannot wait to see you again, and until then just sit up there with Pop and keep watching your dad make a fool of himself, you always said I was good at that. I love you lil lady, and I will see you soon. Love Daddy

A Facebook group Prayers for Trista, Shy and Matt was created which has turned into a memorial with over 11,000 ‘likes’